Artist Spotlight… Jacob Hinds

The artistic talents of Jacob Hinds came to my attention first through his mod for Mount and Blade, Sayazn. A Fantasy Eastern themed horse and musket setting (almost Ottomans for example)not only did it look cool but it sounded cool as well. His world building and characterization was as richly fresh as his images. I was instantly hooked and played many hours of the mod, despite the usual bugs common in single person mod projects.
https://forums.taleworlds.com/index.php?forums/sayazn-s.388/

https://www.moddb.com/mods/sayazn/downloads/sayazn-30

There was so much potential for Sayazn to keep on getting better and better. Naval and aerial combat in particular were discussed. And the cultures, such an interesting departure from the usual Euro-centric flavors. I really wanted to see Sayazn succeed in a big way. But I eventually gave up PC gaming for tabletop wargaming and missed out on how things evolved for Jacob Hinds and Sayazn.

Following on from the discontinued Sayazn 3.0 development, Iron Chieftain was supposed to be his new big gaming project but unfortunately it’s development seemed wrapped in controversy and the sadly all too common forum drama.

https://forums.taleworlds.com/index.php?threads/iron-chieftain-simulated-rts-and-citybuilder.380714/

However Jacob Hinds has continued to create excellent artwork that inspires me. Historical, fictional and fantasy but almost all with a sense of whimsy.

Jacob Hinds artwork

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/gJXmAm

Notice her finger is off the trigger…

He covers a lot of different subjects that appeal to me for various reasons. Some more than others and I am sure I do not always get the messages in his artwork as he writes in many more languages than just English (please bear in mind I am unsure of his politics).

https://www.hindsart.com

His work definitely makes me want to kitbash a number of historical miniatures kits together to replicate the world he built for Sayazn but I definitely do not need another project…. despite the new Samurai Fireforge have recently released…. must… resist….

And with that, I wish you a Merry Christmas! 🎄

17 comments

  1. “MERY CHRISTMAS” , my friend you`re timing was magnificent, and what a rich and varied taste, of subjects you`re artist chouses. I can see why you are drawn to them. Well my friend here we are at the near end of another year of our lives. My thoughts have been drawn back to our friends on “That forum”. I could not be leave that time could pass so swift , that, I could find no minute to wish “J-Tam and all the others a fond “X-mas Cheer”. We have been required to purchase a new computer, since which , I seam to be no longer a member of any thing, a vast wealth of gathered material for gaming disapeared totally.
    So combined with a shelf collapse in the shed, will result next year, in a very important but sad project for me. Rebuild and repaint (due to printers ink in the fall and boxes of metal, plastic and resin, all landing in a heap, then washed in mixed inks) The repair and re build of my beloved “Shadowrun Figure Collection”, Vehicles and Dragons, came off the worst, but many figures were washed in a rainbow of colours.
    I have both collections of figures, and many scratch builds for the Paranormal Animals. These are such apart of my life, that I`ll drop any other project, to get them back to play condition . Only enemy my friend is the one I can`t fight “Time” .
    So with all things packed carefully away, no more sick journeys of repairs wanted .
    “2224 will be Shadowrun rebuild and I`ll post pictures some were to make sure it done I could no bare to see them in this state for long a legless and one winged dragon looks so wrong.
    Didn`t mean to drop so much off here, just came as such a shock,..!!!
    Hope “MIsses GG” and the “NNipper are well ,EIleens exited for tomorrow and so am I .I`ll toast your families health at diner tomorrow > Love Geoff and EIleen and the Shepard Pack,
    Merry Chistmas GG.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can see why the artwork inspires you, mate! Its a very clean and crisp style but with some clever ideas mixed in. Kitbashing historical minis is a great idea as well, especially with all of the new plastic kits hitting the market. It should be easier than ever before to do that type of thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment